Google, How Hot is the Average Shower? and Other Random Facts

I wanted to make this post because I was taking a shower this morning while Justin made breakfast and I wondered, “how hot is the AVERAGE shower?” Mine are typically cooler than average, I think, at about 85 or 90 degrees. So here are some interesting facts that I uncovered using my favorite search engine.Image

 

How hot is the average shower?
100 degrees.

How long is the Iditarod?
1150 miles.

What is the most common birthday?
September 16th.

What is the cheapest place to live in the US?
Harlingen, Texas. (Yeah, because nobody WANTS to live there.)

How long is an elephant’s trunk?
Usually as long as its body, give or take a couple feet.

How fast is the fastest crossword time?
2:29. (DANG.)

I just love Google. My family is probably the most curious family I’ve ever met, and a constant phrase heard in the house is, “I don’t know; Google it!” Remember when it was AskJeeves? Or DOGPILE? (Both from 1996) I feel so old. Google wasn’t even founded until 1998. After that, AlltheWeb and Baidu (1999) and Singingfish (2000) and even Quaero (2006) didn’t gain as much publicity and common-household-name-ness as Google did, ignoring the fact that some of those search engines are categorized into different genres and industries. There’s something easy to remember about the double o’s and the g’s. It’s a silly name, and the first time I heard it, I remember thinking, umm, weird?

Here are some interesting facts about Google!

1. Apparently the founders of Google didn’t know HTML and that is the reason that the interface of the Google homepage is so bare and blank. 

2. The name was an accident. The founders made a spelling error when shooting for “Googol,” and thus, “Google” was born.

3. The “I Feel Lucky” is purely decoration and is rarely ever used.

4. Google’s first tweet, in 2009, was binary: “I’m 01100110 01100101 01100101 01101100 01101001 01101110 01100111 00100000 01101100 01110101 01100011 01101011 01111001 00001010.” For you uneducated hoodlums, this means, “I’m feeling lucky.”

5. Google rents goats. 
No, really. They borrow them from California Grazing to cut down on their foliage in the front lawn of Google HQ. 
Apparently, Google was quoted saying, “(the goats are) a lot cuter to watch than lawn mowers.”

6. Google is not cat-friendly. Google’s Code of Conduct states: “Google’s affection for our canine friends is an integral facet of our corporate culture. We like cats, but we’re a dog company, so as a general rule we feel cats visiting our offices would be fairly stressed out.”

7. The Google logo was not centered until 2001. In fact, it used to sport a cute little exclamation point like Yahoo does! (See what I did there?!) (Oh, I did it again.) !

There you have it. Some interesting facts. Now you’re smarter. 

SOURCES:
14 Interesting Facts About Google from http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/
10 Fun Facts You Didn’t Know About Google from http://www.mashable.com/

This entry was posted in The Wildcard Initiative (Wednesday), Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

