Five Tips for Better Running (Allie)

J and myself found ourselves in the gym tonight, breathing in who-knows-what kind of germs, chugging along on stationary machines, and in general, getting healthier.

As I ran and completed my teeny weeny two and a half miles, I thought about ways to make this horrible, awful journey toward being able to comfortably run…well, more…comfortable. Not sure that it’s possible. But, here are my ideas anyway.

#1: STRETCH.

This nifty little chart kind of breaks down the best stretches for runners. As a pretty tightly-strung individual, I highly recommend these. Not only during, but AFTER my run, I feel looser and more relaxed than I did when I began. I sometimes end up tense and frustrated from a run, and I think it’s a combination of things, one of those being that I didn’t stretch enough that day.

#2: MUSIC.

Bear With You ft. Tedashii – Trip Lee
Paradise – Coldplay
God Is Enough ft. Flame & Jai – Lecrae
Gorilla – Bruno Mars
Heart Attack – Demi Lovato
Hush Little Baby – Toby Mac
I’m On A Boat – The Lonely Island (yep. deal with it.)
Jesus Freak – DC Talk
Like A Boss – The Lonely Island
Like A G6 – Far East Movement & Cataracts & Dev
My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark – Fall Out Boy
Remember The Name – Fort Minor
Sail – AWOLNATION
Come And Get It – Selena Gomez
Seven Nation Army – The White Stripes
Stronger – Kanye West
Untouched – The Veronicas
Viva la Vida – Coldplay
Wild Ones ft. Sia – Flo Rida
Written in the Stars ft. Eric Turner – Tinie Tempah

That’s my playlist. Get one.

#3: RUN ON THE BALL OF YOUR FOOT.

Help yourself out. Use the ball of your foot as your landing point, rather than striking with your heel to encourage a better form and a more efficient work out. Read this article here about barefoot running to better understand where I’m coming from: http://www.runnersworld.com/running-shoes-gear/barefoot-running. I’m not a barefoot runner, but I took what I learned from several articles and applied it to my regular stride and my running stride. It’s useful.

#4: LOG YOUR RUNS.

(That sounds bad.) Write it down. How fast you went, how far you went, and in how much time. Then note the progress from day to day. It’s VERY encouraging.

#5: INVEST.

Buy that $200 pair of running shoes. It’s not something you’ll regret years from now when they’re still holding up and you’re still using them daily. My current running shoe is the Nike LunarEclipse. I have no idea which version. I bought them about a year and a half ago and I’m not sure that I recommend them. They seemed to break down fairly quickly. Previously, I owned a nice pair of La Sportiva Wildcats. THOSE I definitely recommend for outdoor running. I ADORED them. They broke down after about two years of fairly steady use, but they were only $110.

So there you have it. Get outside.

Knack, out.

This entry was posted in The Wildcard Initiative (Wednesday), Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

